Eating chocolate on the GAPS diet

It is true that Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride’s list of foods prohibited on the GAPS list includes chocolate. However, Certified GAPS Practitioner, Ellen Dart from Colorado, stated that

If someone is doing really well I generally say introduce it at the six-month mark. On the other hand, if you have a birthday or truly special celebration I would say treat yourself, knowing it is a legal indulgence.

I consume this “chocolate” in the form of raw cacao powder, but I’m sure regular cocoa powder would be ok. Neither have added sugar or milk powder. Raw cacao powder is a superfood, with multiple times more anti-oxidants than blueberries and the highest source of magnesium among all foods.

2 thoughts on “Eating chocolate on the GAPS diet

  1. I have had the same thoughts myself concerning raw chocolate – however having eaten some raw cacao liquor today I can definitely say that I have become more sensitive to it in my gut area so I think I wil be quite moderate regarding its consumption!
    Please check out my gaps blog – just started so there is only one post 🙂

  2. Pingback: Almond Milk & Milkshake | Gut Feeling Nutrition

Leave a Reply

